FG gives FCT, 15 states N6bn for basic healthcare – Independent Observers

FG gives FCT, 15 states N6bn for basic healthcare

53 0

By Andy Chukwu

The Federal Government has released N6.5 billion to 15 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) for basic healthcare.

Dr. Osagie Ehanire, Minister of Health, who stated this, said the states and FCT are receiving these funds because they met the requirements of the government.

Ehanire said it is the desire of the government that the funds are judicially used for what they have been earmarked for.

The money is to be disbursed by the National Health Insurance Scheme (NHIS).

“You will recall that Universal Health Coverage is a top priority on the global agenda and an integral part of the Sustainable Development Goals which many nations including Nigeria are pursuing vigorously for the benefit of their citizens,” he said.

“Today, it is with deep pleasure and high expectations that I am here before you all to officially launch the first phase of disbursement of funds to benefitting states through the NHIS Gateway.

“For this initial phase of disbursement, a total of N13.775 billion has been released of which the National Health Insurance Scheme will be disbursing N6.5 billion to fifteen states plus the FCT which had met the eligibility criteria as at February 2019.

“Going forward, other states which have met the eligibility criteria will be accommodated as the fund is meant for all Nigerians.”

Muhammadu Sambo, NHIS Executive Secretary, said having counterpart funds and a treasury single account (TSA) are some of the requirements for a state to access the basic healthcare fund.

“Every state that is benefitting has a bank account, a TSA account for the agency, they should have operational funds that will serve as counterpart funds for the states,” Sambo said.

The disbursements are as follows:

Kano        N948,512,911

Lagos       N672,047,446

Katsina    N638,968,221

Kaduna    N552,887,647

Bauchi     N530,180,706

Oyo           N449,214,592

Delta        N394,210,710

Anambra N338,943,386

Plateau    N337,137,31

Imo          N301,716,779

Edo           N301,587,846

Yobe         N270,178,280

Adamawa N242,775,327

Ebonyi     N230,022,330

Bayelsa    N116,580,339

FCT          N180,166,183

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *