Nigerian writer Ayobami Adebayo wins 2018 9mobile Literature Prize – Independent Observers

Nigerian writer Ayobami Adebayo wins 2018 9mobile Literature Prize

112 0

By Temitope Owotoki

Ayobami Adebayo, a Nigerian writer, has been announced the winner of the 2018 edition of the 9mobile Prize for Literature.

Adebayo won through her novel, ‘Stay with Me’.

She was presented with the £15,000 prize money, a Montblanc Meisterstück pen and several other rewards at an event held at the 9mobile headquarters in Banana Island, Lagos on Thursday.

The award is one of the most prestigious literature prizes for first time fiction writers of African origin.

Another Nigerian, Lesley Nneka-Arimah, with ‘What it Means When a Man Falls Down from the Sky’, and a South African, Marcus Low, with ‘Asylum’, emerged the runners-up.

Adebayo’s announcement followed the unanimous selection of her book by the judging panel for the 2018 9mobile Prize for Literature.

The panel was chaired by Nigerian academic, Harry Garuba, and supported by Siphiwo Mahala and Doreen Baingana.

Stephanie Beuvelet, the Acting Managing Director, 9mobile, at the event restated the company’s commitment to continuously support Nigerians and other Africans with the best platforms to express their passion and creativity.

Beuvelet, who was represented by the Executive Director, Regulatory and Corporate Affairs, 9mobile, Abdulrahman Ado, also assured of the company’s commitment to the prize, stating, “we will continue our sponsorship of the prize. It will continue; I assure you it’s not sunset.”

Adebayo on her part, expressed shock at emerging the winner of the coveted prize and commended the runners-up.

“It’s unexpected. I’m surprised not just in terms of winning the prize itself because it was a very strong shortlist. The other books were very amazing. Leslie Arimah’s collection of short stories, I think, is one of the best books that was published that year. Marcus Low’s Asylum is also really brilliant. So, it’s surprising to win the prize. I’m shocked,” she said.

Adebayo’s  260-page novel, Stay With Me, which was set between 1985 and 2008 in Nigeria, revolves around a childless couple – Akin and Yejide.

They are young, educated Nigerians with modern sensibilities about work, marriage and children. Everything appears perfect, until Akin’s mother and Aunts begin pressuring them to have children, something they have been unable to do despite years of trying.

In addition to the prize money, other rewards for Adebayo include a 9mobile-sponsored fellowship at the University of East Anglia, England, where she will be mentored by Professor Giles Foden, author of The Last King of Scotland’.

Past winners of the 9mobile Prize for Literature (previously Etisalat Prize for Literature) include Nigeria’s Jowhor Ile, for his novel, ‘And After Many Days’; Democratic Republic of Congo’s Fiston Mwanza Mujila, for his novel, ‘Tram 83.’

Others are South African writer, Songeziwe Mahlangu, for his novel, ‘Penumbra’ and Zimbabwean writer NoViolet Bulawayo for her novel, ‘We Need New Names’.

Related Post

Banky W Alerts on Party Logo

Posted by - January 25, 2019 0
Entertainer cum politician, Bankole Wellington, popular known as Banky W has alerted voters in his constituency to the change in…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *