African qualifying draw for 2022 World Cup begins – Independent Observers

African qualifying draw for 2022 World Cup begins

83 0

By Kunle Adedoyin

The African preliminary qualifying round draw for the 2022 World Cup was made in Cairo on Monday. Twenty eight countries will be battling to qualify for the next round while twenty six countries drew to the next round.

Countries with automatic qualification for next round are: Senegal, Tunisia, Nigeria, Algeria, Morocco, Egypt, Ghana, Cameroon, Democratic Republic of Congo, Ivory Coast, Mali, Burkina Faso, South Africa, Guinea, Cape Verde, Uganda, Zambia, Benin, Gabon, Congo Brazzaville, Madagascar, Niger, Libya, Mauritania, Kenya, Central African Republic

The fixtures for the qualifying round, whose first and second legs are fixed for Sept 2-10, 2019 are:

  • Ethiopia v Lesotho
  • Somalia v Zimbabwe
  • Eritrea v Namibia
  • Burundi v Tanzania
  • Djibouti v eSwatini (formerly Swaziland)
  • Botswana v Malawi
  • Gambia v Angola
  • Liberia v Sierra Leone
  • Mauritius v Mozambique
  • Sao Tome e Principe v Guinea-Bissau
  • South Sudan v Equatorial Guinea
  • Comoros v Togo
  • Chad v Sudan
  • Seychelles v Rwanda


Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *