Liverpool is champions of Europe! – Independent Observers

Liverpool is champions of Europe!

159 0

By Kunle Adedoyin

Liverpool FC has been crowned the winners of the 2019 European Champions League. The team, on Saturday night defeated Tottenham Hotspur 2-0 in Madrid to lift the highly contested trophy.

Liverpool scored the first goal from the spot kick when Mo Salah put in the penalty into the right side of the net after a handball.

Liverpool were awarded the fastest spot kick in Champions League history when Sadio Mane’s cross struck the underside of Moussa Sissoko’s arm after 23 seconds at the Wanda Metropolitano stadium.

Egyptian striker Salah, who was forced off in Liverpool’s 3-1 defeat by Real Madrid in the last year final, smashed the ball down the middle of the goal to open the scoring.

The goal spurred the London side into action as its men tried to equalised. However, it was Liverpool’s Trent Alexander-Arnold and Andy Robertson who each came close to scoring later in the half.

Tottenham, playing in their first Champions League final, struggled to trouble Jurgen Klopp’s side’s towering defence.

The match ended 1-0 at half time in favour of Liverpool.

Spurs at the beginning of the second half continually piled on pressure for the equaliser.

But Divock Origi who came in for Roberto Firmino in the 58th minute finished off brilliantly into the far corner from Virgil Van Dijk’s lay off in the 87th minute to cement Liverpool’s victory.

The Reds set the record as the team with the most European Champions League title in England — with its six European trophies.

Also Sadio Mané (Senegal), Mohamed Salah (Egypt), and Naby Keïta (Guinea) are the first players in their countries to have lifted the Uefa Champions League.

Jürgen Klopp’s men, who narrowly lost the Premier League championship to Manchester City this season, with the win in Madrid finally ended the club’s fourteen-year trophy drought.

With the victory in Madrid, Liverpool has now beaten Spurs thrice this season just as it finished 28 points above the London team in this year Premiership race.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *