Lagos students appeal for payment of outstanding bursary, scholarship – Independent Observers

Lagos students appeal for payment of outstanding bursary, scholarship

155 0

By Kunle Adedoyin

The National Union of Lagos State Students (NULASS) in tertiary institutions across the country has made a passionate appeal to the Lagos State Government to release the outstanding payment of 2017/2018 bursary and scholarship of its members.

The union made the plea in a petition to Mr Kazeem Adeniji, the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Lagos State, accused the state government of selectively paying the students from Epe Divison at the expense of students from other divisions of the state.

In the petition, the students said of 10,585 beneficiaries, only 2,106 students had received their payments from the 21 per cent of total fund released by the government, claiming that only students from Epe Division had been paid in the subsequent payments to the beneficiaries.

 The students said the selective payment appears inequitable and grossly unjust to other divisions of the state.

“On behalf of the entire students of Lagos State origin in all tertiary institutions across the length and breadth of the nation, we write to thank the government for the release of part of the bursary and scholarship funds.

“We are, therefore, appealing to you, to use your good office to prevail on His Excellency, Mr Akinwunmi Ambode, for the release of our outstanding bursary and scholarship funds.

“The scholarship board has commenced the sale of forms for new applicants.

“This presupposes that if this administration declined to offset the outstanding, it could become a backlog that will affect 2018/2019 payment.

“We have greatly suffered because of this non-payment. A lot of our members are indebted one way or the other to book sellers and food vendors in and around their various campuses.

“Some rely heavily on these funds for their sustenance in school,” they said.

The petition was signed by eight representatives from eight institutions across the country.

The signatories were Miss Busola Okoya, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomosho; Qudus Olaguro, Adeniran Ogunsanya College of Education; Bolaji Ojoare; Lagos State University, Ojo and Ogunowo Olusola, University of Lagos.

Others were Waliu Adeyeri, University of Ilorin; Abdulaziz Adeduntan, Amadu Bello University, Zaria; Oladele Moses, Polytechnic Ibadan and Suliat Olatunji, LASPOTECH

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *