3 more presidential candidates file petitions against Buhari’s victory – Independent Observers

3 more presidential candidates file petitions against Buhari’s victory

163 0

By Danladi Al-Hassan

Three more losing presidential candidates in the February 23 Presidential elections have filed petitions against the victory of President Muhammadu Buhari of the all Progressive Congress (APC).

The three, in separate petitions have approached the Presidential Election Petition Tribunal sitting in Abuja, urging it to invoke its powers and quash the declaration of President Buhari as the winner of the 2019 presidential election.

The petitioners: Ambrose Owuru of Hope Democratic Party (HDP), Aminchi Habu of Peoples Democratic Movement (PDM) and Geff Chizee Ojinka, Coalition For Change (C4C);  separately alleged that the election was characterized by manifest irregularities, adding that the Electoral Act was not substantially complied with by the Independent National Electoral Commission ( INEC) and asked the tribunal to sack President Buhari and order a fresh election

Owuru’s petition was marked as CA/ PEPC/001/2019, and cited the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the INEC as other Respondents. Owuru secured a total of 1,663 in the presidential election.

In another petition, registered as CA/PEPC/004/2019, Habu is challenging the outcome of the presidential poll.

Ojinka’s petition was marked CA/PEPC/003/2019 and was also asking the tribunal to nullify President Buhari’s election. However, his petition included the Vice President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo, as the 2nd Respondent. Ojinka scored a total of 2,391 votes at the presidential poll.

The C4C petition contend that the election was “vitiated by substantial non compliance with mandatory statutory provisions, which irregularity substantially affected the election such that the 1st Respondent was not entitled to be returned as the Winner of the Presidential election.”

Related Post

Rep Dumps PDP For APC

Posted by - January 17, 2019 0
Mr Mike Omogbehin, a member of the House of Representatives, representing Okitipupa/Irele Federal Constituency, has defected from the Peoples Democratic…

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *