PDP wins Bauchi Guber elections – Independent Observers

PDP wins Bauchi Guber elections

195 0

By Danladi Alhassan

Senator Bala Mohammed, governorship candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Bauchi State, has won the governorship election in the state.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Monday, after the collation of results including that of the controversial Tafawa Balewa Local Government Area (LGA) declared Mohammed the winner of the election.

Professor Kyari Muhammed, the State Returning Officer said Mohammed defeated his closest rival, Mohammed Abubakar, incumbent Governor of the state, and candidate of the All Progressive Congress (APC). He polled 515,113 votes while Abubakar scored 500,625 votes.

Dr. Musa Dahiru, the new collation officer for Tafawa Balewa LGA, said PDP polled 39,225 votes against 30,055 votes polled by APC in LGA.

Total figure of registered voters at Tafawa Balewa LGA was 139,240; accredited voters were 74,181; total votes cast was 73,779; total valid votes, 73,041, and rejected votes were 738.

Before the final announcement of the results of Tafawa Balewa LGA on Monday, PDP had polled 475,888 votes against 470,570 votes scored by the APC.

Related Post

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *